All bookseller links are provided so you can get more information about a book. We have affiliate relationships with Barefoot Books, Amazon.com, and Tapestry Books. All revenue generated from sales through these venues is used strictly to cover website costs and minimize donation requests and fundraising campaigns.
    OR        



"...My greatest of all amusements, reading." More


      Printer Friendly

Click cover to buy:

PARAWORLD ZERO; PARALLEL WORLDS BOOK 1

Author: Matthew Peterson

Illustrator: Matthew Peterson, cover

Reserve at the Library

Publisher: Blue Works, a division of Windstorm Creative,

Material: paperback

Summary: Simon Kent, 12, is a boy who lives in an orphanage. His life is filled with bullies and loneliness. One day he meets Tonya, who is from a parallel universe. She has magical powers, and Simon, too, learns that he also has special powers that he can use to save the earth. Together, Tonya and Simon must face monsters and protect Tonya from the evil people who don't like magic. This is sci-fi adventure for young adults. It is rated pre-teen.

Type of Reading: family reading, anytime reading, independent reading,

Recommended Age: read together: 10 to 12; read yourself: 13 and up

Interest Level: 12 and up

Reading Level: 5.3

Age of Child: Read by student at Woodside Magnet High School for Arts and Communication (Newport News, VA)

Young Reader Reaction: This book is good for kids 13 and older. I picked the book because I like science. From the very beginning it held my attention and was easy to get into. I liked how it was futuristic. I think it would be cool if there really were parallel worlds. I learned that just because someone is different, doesn't mean you have to pick on them.

Adult Reader Reaction: This is a fantasy novel written in the tradition of The Chronicles of Narnia, Harry Potter, and The Hobbit. Reading the book really was like reviewing Lewis, Rowling, and Tolkien on steroids. This is a fast-paced fantasy/science fiction work. The author he has written an imaginative and creative coming of age adventure.

Pros: Reading this book is like watching a movie: you can see it in your mind. The author engages the reader immediately and carries you along with Simon and Tonya.

Cons: It may be a little hard to understand for some audiences. There are too many characters, plots, and subplots for the average reader to track. One has to have a “score card” to keep the players and adventures straight. Despite the marketing of the book, this is the author’s first publication and he has a lot of work to do before he can comfortably join Lewis, Tolkien, and Rowling as masters of the genre.

Borrow or Buy: Borrow or buy. Our teen reviewer really liked this book; it was exciting and had a great story. Our parental reviewer found it less enticing than Harry Potter, The Chronicles of Narnia, and The Hobbit.

If You Liked This Book, Try: Star Trek Books GONE   THE APPARITION TRAIL   CONOR AND THE CROSSWORLDS; BOOK 1: Breaking the Barrier

Educational Themes: There are no weighty themes in this book. It is an imaginative and creative work of fantasy which will catch and sustain some readers’ attention with its bizarre characters and multi-level plots and sub-plots. More typical readers will eventually drift away because of the effort it takes to follow the ever-changing stories and characters.

Notes: Flesch Kincaid reading level 5.3

Literary Categories: Fiction - science fiction, fantasy, adventure, young adult

Date(s) Reviewed: June 2008, August 2008

Other Reviews:




                 

Copyright © 2003 - 2017. The Reading Tub, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
The Reading Tub and Turning a Page ... Opening the World are registered trademarks of The Reading Tub Inc.
No use of these trademarks is permitted without written approval of The Reading Tub, Inc.
Privacy Policy.     Site developed by Sites2BeSeen.